Questions nobody should ever ask

How on earth are you supposed to answer these questions?

“When are you going to find someone nice and get married?”

Probably next year, maybe on the last Saturday in April, if my crystal ball is accurate.  Related to:

“Why are you still single?”

O.M.G. There just isn’t a good answer for this one although I’ve been tempted to say things like ‘Because I look at other people’s marriages and none of them make me want to tie the knot myself’. What I usually say is ‘How many nice, straight, single 30/40-something guys do YOU know?’

Another one:

“When are you going to have babies? You’d be such a good mom / You aren’t getting any younger, you know.”

Jeeeeeeepers… this one drives me crazy. Just because YOU have kids, doesn’t mean everyone else (a) wants them and (b) can have them. Oh and thanks for pointing out that I’m nearly over the hill.

So many people struggle with fertility these days, that you’d think people wouldn’t be so tactless. And asking this of a single person is even worse… I mean, are we just supposed to go out and get ourselves knocked up, to become single mothers? I have friends who are single who are desperate for children, but don’t have the (emotional and financial) resources to go it alone. This kind of question is like a knife through their hearts.

And as for those of us who prefer to remain childfree, well… admit that to these people and you’ll be given a look of horror. How could you not want little snot-nosed, screaming darlings?

If you have any snappy answers for these questions, please share them in the comments. I could do with some good comebacks.

5 thoughts on “Questions nobody should ever ask

  1. im 47 soon be 48 and have no kids. I just say I cant find any one I would have kids with or I cant get alone with anyone long enough to have a kid. I love kids but I can send them home,

  2. When asked why I don’t have kids. I respond with “my ova are very picky on the kind of sperm they like”. As the words sink in to the person asking the question I add…Are you donating your husband… as I do not intend to bring the kids up alone. ” Usually shuts them up : )

  3. Pingback: Don’t Pity Me Because I’m Single | The Girl Next Door is Black

  4. The answer to all these questions is: “ohhhhh, as soon as I’ve gotten bored of happiness and become ready to destroy my body and f*ck my life up!” BIG GRIN :-D

  5. i totally get this!! I was living with my partner for the longest time and we weren’t married – so questions about that and babies were always come at me (but not him?!?!).

    as you probably know – their questions are more about them then you but I do understand the wish to shut down that line of questioning asap. I was always fumbling and using bad excuses when really it was no one’s business but my own.

    wish I could have just smiled at them slowly and said “ohhhh… is that what I should do?” and leave it ambiguous like that.

Leave a Reply

