Half-way to gorgeous

I was out at a Christmas party last night. My friend SK had organised a very cool event where the entrance fee was a toy, to be given to a child in a hospital or orphanage over the Christmas period.

SK is one of a group of women I have met and become friends with this year, through a business course. Never before have I met such dynamic, energetic people – so full of ideas, and backed by the drive to make them happen. I love spending time with them.

When I first met them I was quite intimidated. They are all so proactive and most of them are also absolutely stunning. I’m not an ugly duckling, but I definitely don’t stop traffic. I’m probably a six on the 1-10 scale. So there I was surrounded by 8s and 9s and feeling a little inadequate.

Now that we have all got to know each other and built some really valuable friendships, I feel a bit like their energy and beauty rubs off on me when we’re all together. We certainly have a unique dynamic and when we’re out for dinner or drinks, our group definitely turns heads. Possibly because we’re making such a noise, but more likely because we are having a fantastic time. Yes, we’re the table that you wish you were at.

At this party last night I was chatting to one of my long-term guy friends (Sean – the newly-single guy with the golf clubs) and he said something interesting to me: ‘Yes, those girls are gorgeous, but when you’re around them, you act gorgeous too, and that’s half of what it’s all about’.*

I know I’ve read that in magazines before but it was only last night that it sank in. Perhaps that I’d gone straight to the party from having my hair cut also helped, but whatever it was, I was feeling utterly fabulous! Perhaps I need to go and befriend some supermodels…

* Correct response should have been: ‘What are you worried about? You’re gorgeous too!’ – but Sean is brutally honest and that’s one of the things I appreciate greatly about him. He’s great to go shopping with!

Leave a comment