Merry Christmas!

I’ve finally finished my Christmas shopping and have even wrapped everything already (*smug smile*). My clients have all received hand-written Christmas cards from me thanking them for their business this year. And today I’ll spend some time replying to holiday letters from family and friends around the world.

As a copywriter, I’m always trying to come up with creative ways to wish people well over the holidays.

First, do you stick to the neutral ‘happy holidays’ version, or make it about Christmas? For me, it IS a religious holiday and I celebrate its true meaning. I’m pretty sure my non-Christian friends don’t mind me wishing them a happy Christmas, because after all, the celebration is one of joy and love. And I reckon my non-Christian friends wouldn’t mind being wished a happy Christmas – firstly because it’s usually said with a good intention (as opposed to an evangelical one) and secondly, because those who are non-practicing celebrate Christmas in a secular way anyway.

Second, I love the old-fashioned terminology around Christmas. Words like tidings, joy, merry and greetings. It conjures up a time where family and friends really were the focus, rather than the materialistic side of Christmas.

So here’s my wish to all the readers of this blog: May your Christmas be filled with love, laughter, joy and merriment as you spend time with your loved ones. And may you escape the mayhem of the malls and instead find a place where the peace and magic of the season fill your heart and remain there in the year to come.

Merry Christmas. xx

4 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

  1. I agree! I love saying Merry Christmas; however as a government employee, I’m forced to wish everyone a Happy Holiday…that just sounds so unnatural.

    So, I’m with you…Merry Christmas and thank you for a great blog!!

  2. @singleandalmost30 I hope your Christmas was very merry too 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog in 2009 – looking forward to chatting more with you in 2010!

Leave a Reply

