Online dating turn-ONs #1: Stringing a good sentence together

In my newly-found spirit of two-thousand-and-zen and positive thinking, I’ve decided to discontinue my ‘online dating turn-offs’ series and give it a positive spin. Enter ‘online dating turn-ONs’.

What will get my attention every time is a profile that’s been well-written. Full sentences, no text-speak (“u r gr8”), proper punctuation (“u r gr8!!!!!!!!1!!”), and intelligent words that actually give an insight into the person who has written them.

Yes, a correctly-placed apostrophe will really get my ovaries humming. Throw in a clever pun or two, and I’m yours.

Sadly, profiles like this are the exceptions rather than the rule – amongst the guys I’ve checked out online anyway. But when I stumble upon one, it’s like finding buried treasure. I read it and reread it. Then I go look at some other profiles but always come back to read Mr Writer’s one again. Balm to my eyes. OK, that was a bit of a dodgy analogy… nobody puts balm in their eyes… but you get the point.

Hell, I’ll even overlook age, height and all sorts of things that are usually non-negotiables and click that little ‘Favourite him’ button.

Yes, guys, women really ARE easy. All you’ve got to do is make a little effort – with your profile, your appearance, how you treat us. A well-written profile WILL make you stand out from the crowd.

Are women just as bad with their language usage, or is it a guy thing?

4 thoughts on “Online dating turn-ONs #1: Stringing a good sentence together

  1. Oh! Most people are illiterate fools. I also reject illiterate fools. I figure that if you can’t take the time to proof read your profile and not take short cuts with language, you’re going to be taking those same shortcuts with your relationship.

    But I’ve oft been informed that this is the way that “some people write”.

    I think it has to do with audience. When you’re creating a profile, you want to present yourself well and be articulate about who you are and what you’re looking for. When you’re texting a friend to see if they want to meet up for dinner, I am ok with: “u wanna git diner 2nite?”

  2. Finally someone who actually feels me on this online dating business…I don’t understand how one can just assume that I will overlook his inability to construct an inaccurate sentence…and still think him attractive….totally boggles the mind….

  3. Hi Wanjamur – exactly! It’s all about selling oneself… what kind of impression do guys think they’re creating when they say things like ‘Luv the outdoors n campings gr8’. Seriously…! Enjoyed your blog by the way 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Well, with the over-usage of IM and SMS, it is just sad that it is now a habit to type in IM language, even when constructing their own profiles on a dating website!

Leave a Reply

